Recorded on: 12/01/2015 9:00am PT, 12:00pm ET, 5:00pm UTC

The slides and notebooks for this session are available as attachments within the webinar itself.  Please start the webinar, hover over the webinar, click [Attachments], and you will be able to download all the materials.

In this webcast, Patrick Wendell from Databricks will be speaking about Apache Spark's new 1.6 release.

Spark 1.6 will include (but not limited to) a type-safe API called Dataset on top of DataFrames that leverages all the work in Project Tungsten to have more robust and efficient execution (including memory management, code generation, and query optimization) [SPARK-9999], adaptive query execution [SPARK-9850], and unified memory management by consolidating cache and execution memory [SPARK-10000]. 

Presenters

patrick_wendell_sq.jpg

Patrick Wendell

CoFounder - Databricks

Patrick Wendell is a co-founder and engineer at Databricks as well as a founding Committer and PMC member of Apache Spark. In the Spark project, Patrick has acted as release manager for several Spark releases. Patrick also maintains several subsystems of Spark’s core engine. Before helping start Databricks, Patrick obtained an M.S. in Computer Science at UC Berkeley. His research focused on low latency scheduling for large-scale analytics workloads. He holds a B.S.E in Computer Science from Princeton University.