Recorded on 5/5/2016 10:00am PT, 1:00pm ET, 5:00pm UTC 
 
The slides and notebooks for this session are available as attachments within the webinar itself.  Please start the webinar, hover over the webinar, click [Attachments], and you will be able to download all the materials.
 
In this webcast, Reynold Xin from Databricks will be speaking about Apache Spark's new 2.0 major release.
 
The major themes for Spark 2.0 are:
  • Unified APIs: Emphasis on building up higher level APIs including the merging of DataFrame and Dataset APIs
  • Structured Streaming: Simplify streaming by building continuous applications on top of DataFrames allow us to unify streaming, interactive, and batch queries.
  • Tungsten Phase 2: Speed up Apache Spark by 10X

Presenters

Reynold-Xin.jpg

Reynold Xin

Chief Architect for Spark at Databricks

Reynold Xin is an Apache Spark PMC member and Chief Architect for Spark and co-founder at Databricks.
default_user_photo.png

Jules S. Damji

Spark Community Evangelist, Databricks

Jules S. Damji is a Apache Spark Community Evangelist with Databricks. He is a hands-on developer with over 15 years of experience and has worked at leading companies building large-scale distributed systems.